Your Comfort Zone

I thought I’d take a break from talking about money directly and provide you with something to personally consider.

Have you noticed we are surrounding ourselves with distractions and “things” all day long?  Cell phones, computer screens, work environment, cars, machines, tools … the list is endless.  These items have become a part of us, they shape our day and in some fashion our lives.  Hey, I know some of these things we would say we cannot do without, and I know many of them make our life much easier and provide us the very means to live, so I do see the quandary.  However, I am troubled that these things can all too often define us and keep us all too comfortable within that zone of familiarity.

So here is my challenge and here is my true wish for you as an individual.  Think of something that you have always wanted to do, but for whatever reason have not attempted it.  I’m not talking about extreme stuff, but something on that bucket list we all have or should have.  Learning to play chess, speak a different language, hiking, learning to grow something.  The list is endless and the opportunities are truly wonderful.

The only requirement is it will force you to work outside your comfort zone.  Here is the key.  For a short time this challenge will force you to put down those daily items that frame us.  It will cause you to change the routine that dictates you.  You will get uncomfortable for just a moment and push yourself into something that will make you either, stretch, bend, think, or quiet your mind and soul for a moment, but most important it will cause you to grow.

I believe if you will do this, you can discover a new you.  You will find out that by challenging yourself to be outside of your comfort zone more often you can deal with all of the stuff inside the zone better.

I’d love to hear what you did.  I took a long hike and fished a strange stream in the Pisgah National Forest.  I will tell you about it someday.  Good luck and good stretching.

About John Hardy

Vice-President
This entry was posted in HMC Partners, My Soapbox. Bookmark the permalink.